The mystery FruitChia bars

In November, I wrote a product review on FruitChia bars. True to the name, each all natural bar is made of fruit and chia seed, which come together to create a chewy texture and tangy flavor. The bars came in four flavors at the time: blueberry, strawberry, cranberry, and raspberry. Follow this link to read my review of the product.

I recently got in touch with Get Chia, the makers of FruitChia bars, to see if the company might be willing to support my trek with a donation, and the company representative generously agreed (for which I’m so grateful. Thanks!). Much to my surprise, he crammed 24 bars in a small-sized USPS Priority Mail box (and you know I’m in awe of anyone with that kind of spacial skill).

So would one create the box first and then put in the bars OR build the box around the bars?

So would one create the box first and then put in the bars OR build the box around the bars?

And, and, AND, he sent me flavors that have never seen the light of day including pear, cherry, apricot, and peach. I’m talking literally here. The flavors are still in the experimental phase. The only one that has been confirmed for market is the pear.

I'm more taken by these pre-market wrappers than the fancy ones.

I’m more taken by these pre-market wrappers than the fancy ones.

There are two parts of this equation that have me giggling in a corner:

  1. I fall all over myself with the thought that I get to sample products before they hit the market. It’s like I’m 10 years old again, goading my younger sisters, “I know something you don’t know!”
  2. My absolute favorite dried fruit on the face of the earth is pear. And it’s so difficult to come by. In the mixed dried fruit bag available at Costco, there are inevitably only two pieces of pear. It makes no sense! Why can’t pear be more popular and available? Well, now I have one more avenue.

I’ve already starting scattering some of the bars in my mail drop boxes among my dehydrated meals and oatmeal. Fancy wrapper or no fancy wrapper, they’re definitely a welcome addition.

Meandering on,

Jordana

12 thoughts on “The mystery FruitChia bars

    • Sweet. Well, we’ll both have to keep an eye out for the pear ones to become commercially available. And I’d love to hear if you know of a good dried pear brand.

      • after this post, I decided to go searching for good pears. I ordered some from nuts.com and they were ridiculously fast in shipping. The pears are very good, not too dry with a silky texture interupted only by very fine fruit sugar crystals. All in all, a very pleasurable thing to eat.

  1. Jordana, as an English major, I love reading your posts. You have a wonderful vocabulary and a way that you use it. You may remember a previous reply of mine regarding some older gentlemen from Virginia Beach walking a short stretch in July. I live in Croatan; 825 S Atlantic Avenue. I leave for Costa Rica Friday; surfing for spring break with my son who attends Hamden Sydney . I’d like to give you a donation if you are accepting of $200. My cell is 7574507708. Regardless , wishing you the best of luck on your journey and safe return. Ron Swan

    Sent from my IPhone

    • Of course I remember your reply from several months ago, Ron. I definitely ear-marked “older gentlemen hiking Virginia,” just in case I’m in the vicinity when you’re coming through. I do have to say, though, that you couldn’t be that much of an older gentleman if you’re spending a week in Costa Rica surfing. Thank you so much for your offer. I’m overwhelmed by your generosity, but I’d rather you treat your son to a dinner at Il Giardino before you two head out. I hope you have a great time on your vacation!

Leave a Reply

