I did it. I moved out. OR Whatever. I’ll sleep next week, but actually I could really use a nap.

Friday afternoon I picked up a Budget rental truck less than a mile from my apartment. It was a 10 footer, and I was nervous that all of my furniture and boxes wouldn’t fit. After biting off my fingernails to pass the time, I decided that the best option would be to wait for April to return home to assess and help.

Stop giving me heartburn about my fingernails. It's not a big deal. I packed them in the closest box for later.

Stop giving me heartburn about my fingernails. It’s not a big deal. I packed them in the closest box for later.

Once April got home at 6, we started to take some of the lighter bits and pieces from our third floor apartment down the stairs and into the truck. I had already taken all of the drawers out of the 2 three-drawer dressers for transport, but when April picked one up and carried it down the stairs, I stood there with mouth agape…and then skittered after her with one of the drawers in hand. Have I mentioned that April is an Amazon? She’s really strong.

See that dresser to the left? April manhandled it. Manhandled, I say! I grabbed one drawer at a time.

See that dresser to the left? April manhandled it. Manhandled, I say! I grabbed one drawer at a time.

After a dozen trips to the truck carting the drawers, the box spring, and a few boxes, we closed the back and took a break to get some dinner at Whole Foods. When we returned, I got right back to it. Up, down, up, down. Shake out arm muscles. Repeat.

At about 8pm a couple of April’s friends joined to help with the heavy items like the mattress and the wardrobe; after another 45 minutes with their added manpower, we managed to all but finish the task. At that point, I ate my dinner, collected the last few items, and dragged myself down to the truck one more time before locking the back and calling it a night past 10pm.

I stacked my mattress and box spring against the wall. Pretty awesome, right? Super strong! Holy crap, I had to lay down to rest when I was done...but there was nowhere to lay.

I stacked my mattress and box spring against the wall beforehand. Pretty awesome, right? Super strong! Holy crap, I had to lay down to rest when I was done…but there was nowhere to lay.

I was wound up from all of the exertion and ended up staring at the ceiling for a while. The next thing I knew it was 3am and I got up to gather myself and leave. The night was dark and rainy, but I managed to make it to Virginia Beach before 7am. My mom and I spent the next hour and a half unloading what we could of the truck since the radar showed a foreboding band of rain approaching.

I read this and was in between laughing really hard and crying at how true it is.

I read this and was in between laughing really hard and crying at how true it is. If you can’t read, click to enlarge. Worth it.

A couple of my mom’s friends showed up at 8:45, and they managed to unload the last heavy pieces of furniture and equipment through a steady light rain. About a third of the truck’s contents went directly into the garage, and the rest were directed into the house and eventually to an upstairs bedroom. After the guys left, I continued unpacking boxes until about 11am, after which I showered and dressed for my girlfriend’s baby shower.

For the baby shower, my friend had to guess who brought which onesie. Isn't this adorable? Feel free to gush.

For the baby shower, my friend had to guess who brought which onesie. Isn’t this adorable? Feel free to gush.

After I returned from the baby shower (five hours later), my mom treated me to the best lamb chops I’ve ever had in my entire life (the steak was good too). Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the gluten free brownies my mom made as an experiment for my mail drops (success). And I figured out how to download and use a spreadsheet app (think Excel) and Notepad app (think Word) for my Kindle with keyboard (thanks for the hint, Jill from ATrailLife!). Now I’ll be able to journal and keep track of mileage on my trek easily with my Kindle.

Anyway, then we continued unpacking until every last tidbit found its appropriate place in the house.

Not bad for a day's work.

Not bad for a day’s work.

A few of my friends who were in town for the baby shower spent the night, and we stayed up until 1:30am hanging out. Up at 7am the next morning (Sunday), it’s a wonder I wasn’t a complete wreck, although I was probably a little giddy (the giddy stage always comes before the crashing stage).

After returning the rental truck, we all ended up going to brunch for one of our girlfriend’s 30th birthday and then carpooling back up to our respective homes in the DC area. As soon as I walked into my apartment at 5pm, I fell onto my meager but overwhelmingly welcoming mattress pad and fell asleep.

I told you'd I'd be camping out in my apartment. This is pretty close, me thinks.

I told you’d I’d be camping out in my apartment. This is pretty close, me thinks.

It was such an exhausting weekend, but I’m really glad that we managed to get everything in place and unpacked so that there’s one less thing to worry about when I’m back in Virginia Beach in several days. Now the last major thing on my list is to figure out all my mail drop locations and pack the boxes, which I plan to finish up next weekend. Good thing, too, because it’s really getting down to the wire.

Only one weekend left! You weren’t expecting that, were you? I know. I’m shocked too.

Meandering on,

Jordana

15 thoughts on “I did it. I moved out. OR Whatever. I’ll sleep next week, but actually I could really use a nap.

      • I’ve moved a lot, and I’ve only done one with movers. Movers are expensive and did’t exactly care about the same things I cared about. Plus, there’s something satisfying about getting it done and knowing you did it. Plus plus, it was good exercise to prepare for your trek.

  1. One step at a time!!!!! Is your starting date carved in stone, or will you hit the trail when you are ready? Will you be able to update your blog on the trail itself with your kindle, or will we have to wait for your stops?

    • Let’s see when I’m ready. The Kindle only has wifi, so I won’t be using it to update the blog. I have a WordPress app on my smartphone so will use that, but it’ll likely only do that when I am in trail towns.

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!

    I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

