A big thank you to NutraBio for the donation!

When I went to a thru-hiker workshop a couple of months ago, the woman in charge of discussing nutrition and diet on the trail really got me thinking. I’d never been one much for protein powders, mostly because I don’t really need the extra calories in my diet (especially during this holiday season, it seems. Seriously, first the office party, then the leftovers in the break room? Must regain self control!).

Like this...but less creepy.

Like this…but less creepy.

But apparently I haven’t quite wrapped my mind around the number of calories I’m going to burn while hiking the A.T. I’ve done some rough calculations, and I gather I will burn approximately 18 million calories per day, give or take. And I also have to keep in mind protein to feed my soon-to-be amazingly muscular build (I can dream, can’t I?).  With that in mind, I started looking into protein powders since they’re lightweight (powdered…dehydrated) yet calorific (said with an exclamation point and a bright shiny smile cheesing into the camera).

 

Not only did NutraBio give me protein powder, but the company also gave me a makeshift bear canister.

Not only did NutraBio give me protein powder, but the company also gave me a makeshift bear canister.

I contacted NutraBio, which sources such products, to see if the company might be willing to send me samples to try. The response I received was apologetic that samples were not available, but instead I was offered a two-pound container of whey protein isolate for my trek. Isn’t that awesome? So friggin’ generous! I’m over-the-top grateful for the donation!

NutraBio’s 100% Whey Protein Isolate is lactose free (score! I won’t need to take Lactaid pills), fat free, cholesterol free, gluten free (check!), sugar free and OU kosher. The website also specifies:

NutraBio Whey Protein Isolate (WPI) is made from 100% Whey Protein Isolate only. This should be obvious from the name, so why do we have to say it? Because the industry trend now is to label a product as Whey Protein then dilute it down with cheap proteins like whey concentrate or sweet whey. NutraBio does not play this game; our WPI is made from WPI only. Our unflavored WPI contains absolutely no other proteins, fillers, excipients, carbs or anything else whatsoever under the sun. This holds true for our flavored protein as well, except we put a small amount of flavoring in of course.

Almost TOO healthy, right? I should add sugar to balance it out.

Almost TOO healthy, right? I should add sugar to balance it out.

This is actually a pretty big deal to me since another reason I’ve thus far stayed away from many protein powders is that they have “filler” ingredients that my body cannot tolerate well. Anyhoo, I don’t want to belabor the point. I just wanted to express my gratitude to NutraBio.

I can’t wait to bag the white powdered protein in unmarked ziploc bags (just kidding; I’ll label the bags), maybe add some sugar and cocoa powder, and put them in the pile of goodies to be sent to me during my trek. Lots of protein. Super tasty. Easy way to rationalize a chocolate shake. What’s not to like?

Meandering on,

Jordana

Leave a Reply

