Weekend Hike – Halloween (and Frankenstorm) Edition

Last Saturday afternoon, I went back to Bull Run for a hike (off I-66 exit 40 in Virginia). I know I said I was going to lay off for the sake of my poor toe, but I wore my hiking boots this time instead of my trail runners…so so so, um, ya know, get off my back. I was there only two weeks ago, but with Frankenstorm supposedly bearing down on the east coast, I figured I shouldn’t go too far out. After all, I had to make sure I left enough time in my day to panic like my fellow DC metro-ers.

Fall fell.

When it comes down to it, I might as well have been in a completely different place. In two weeks’ time, the landscape has become blanketed in a vibrant yellow hue, and leaves have fallen en masse. If you’re looking for a perfect place to crunch, crunch, crunch along, I found it.

Happy Halloween!

And if that weren’t enough, I also found my trail decorated for Halloween.  How could I not be in love with Bull Run after that? The only thing that would have made it better is if there were bowls of candyhealthy snacks (riiiight) accompanying the regularly spaced pumpkins.

Just in case you didn’t believe me: my hiking boots. See? I’m taking care of my toesies.

When I made it to the overlook, I sat there taking it in for a while before I noticed someone snapping a panoramic photo with his smartphone. I’d never done that before, so I started putzing around with mine. It took a minute to figure it out, but the effect was pretty cool once I got the hang of it.

Isn’t this trippy? Silly Jor, don’t rotate the phone as it’s recording the panorama.

I figured it out! Should I pat myself on the back? Don’t mind if I do.

When I made it back to my car, I noticed that my fuel gauge was approaching empty, so I drove straight to the gas station. I waited in line for about ten minutes since the end of the world was nigh, which clearly requires everybody in the region to go out and fill up their tanks.

Once I got home, I saw that Metro had announced that it was suspending service for Monday. Seriously?!  Metro never closes in advance of a storm. In over five years, I’ve only seen it shutter once weather-related damage has occurred, and then only the above-ground stations. Panic? Panic! I kicked it into gear, filled up a load of water bottles and assessed my food stores. Once I opened up my cupboard and saw plenty of beef jerky, dried fruit, and hemp seed, I breathed a sigh of relief. Hurricane or no hurricane, I knew I’d be fine.

Meandering on,

Jordana

32 thoughts on “Weekend Hike – Halloween (and Frankenstorm) Edition

  1. We live near Bull Run, and it is an amazing place to hike. For Halloween, the kids will dress up and stop at stations along the way to the top, where they usually have a band. I’m glad they had the last weekend before Halloween without interference from the storm.

    • Thanks for the well wishes! It came through mostly yesterday and last night. It’s just about over…only drizzly at this point. Should clear up by tomorrow.

  2. Great photos! I was on Bull Run Mountain the same day with a bunch of folks from the Alexandria Walking & Hiking Group and must have just missed you! We’re planning a hike at nearby Raven Rocks on Veteran’s Day weekend, so it’s possible we’ll cross paths again…

  3. Since reading Bill Bryson’s book on the AT I’ve dreamt of giving it a go someday. I hope you make it.You’ve clearly got the passion, so I think you will.
    At the mo I’m just loving ambling around England. Tho’ i will be walking the length Hadiran’s wall dressed as a Roman Soldier, in Easter. For charity of course.
    The best of luck Jordana 🙂

  4. Hope you are faring well in the storm aftermath. Many were spared, we are among them and rejoice at our safety. Hope you are getting lots of good vibes and inout on your planning. We have added some “tough hikes” to our spontaneous agenda. Finding we love the rock scrambles. Try Old Rag down near you…very nice. We bought cheap trekking poles (one for each of us, time to use two without being stuck with ’em) but haven’t used them yet. Ryan (my friend’s son) used two also as his tent pole for at least part of his AT adventure.

    • I’m doing well and have checked in on most of my friends in the affected areas. I have to be honest that you comments are all over the place and kind of confusing me, but it sounds like you two are having a great time on your adventure. Glad to hear it.

Leave a Reply

