Newest Product Sponsor a Complete Surprise! Sunsweet Growers, Inc.

I’m guessing some of you have figured out by now that I’ve been emailing a lot of companies. In particular when it comes to food, my main purpose is to try new items and brands to figure out what may be suitable to eat on my trek. I know that some thru-hikers advocate buying whatever groceries are available along the way, but I’d rather have a little more control over what I eat, especially given my food sensitivities.

Bag’s almost empty. Oh darn, I guess I’ll have to go back to Costco.

I basically started out by looking at the brands in my cabinet and checking online to see what other food items those brands offered.

Sunsweet Growers, Inc. is primarily known for its prunes, but they also sell a variety of other dried fruits. Being that it’s my life’s dream to be an old lady, I keep a bag of prunes (Costco issue, of course) in my cupboard at all times. I emailed the company requesting samples of their other dried fruits to review, and the response I got was, “Thank you for taking the time to contact Sunsweet Growers, Inc. We are always glad for the opportunity to be of service. Yes, they will be sending you some samples. Can you email us your address and phone number?” Score!

My early birthday gift from Sunsweet

Let me fast forward to last Friday. I had had a particularly draining week at work, and the icing on the cake was when the train doors completely failed to open at my Metro stop. Deep down, I know that Metro was just concerned for my health; since I hadn’t gotten enough exercise all week, the train wanted to make sure that I got an extra long walk in. Thank you, Metro.

When I got home, there was a large box waiting at my door. I wracked my brain trying to remember what I had ordered, to no avail. Noting that the box weighed in at 19 pounds confused me even more. So when I opened up the box and found package upon package of Sunsweet dried apricots and plums (and a handwritten note, to boot!), I just about died with giddiness.

This might as well have been a love letter because I instantly fell in love.

I’m a big fruit person, so it’s important to me to have options on hand while I’m hiking. And it’s really nice that Sunsweet’s plums and apricots don’t contain any added sugars. And, yeah, I know you’re snickering over the reputation of prunes: each serving has 3 grams of fiber. (Oh, come on, I am not spelling it out for you.)

Sunsweet, my colon and I are so grateful to you for going above and beyond my request for samples. (OK, I guess I am spelling it out for you.)

Did I mention this generous donation put me right on Cloud 9?

Meandering on,

Jordana

10 thoughts on “Newest Product Sponsor a Complete Surprise! Sunsweet Growers, Inc.

    • Oh duh! Of course. I love their prunes. They’re big and plump and flavorful. Not at all dry and tough like other brands I’ve tried. The apricots share those attributes, but I’m downright addicted to the prunes.

      • Oh, as an aside, they do add preservatives, which isn’t a problem for me but does aggravate my mom’s arthritis. Not a deal breaker, but something to be wary of for people with sensitivities.

    • My pleasure. As an update, Metro and I aren’t currently on speaking terms. Because it decided not to open today, I’ve been stuck at home all day. Or maybe that has something to do with Hurricane Sandy.

Leave a Reply

