Fun contest and GIVEAWAY! Help me think of songs for my playlist!

I was looking at a map of the Appalachian Trail when I noticed that the A.T. runs directly through Chattahoochee National Forest. You know Chattahoochee, right? Where it gets hotter than a hoochee coochee? (Giggle. I love that song. It’s #2 on my running playlist.) I mean everybody knows it, especially people that listen to country music (Alan Jackson is the musician). But I never actually knew where it was. I decided then and there that I would listen to that song each and every day that I’m tramping through that well-named stretch of forest.

Then it got me thinking. There are so many songs that could relate to hiking the Appalachian Trail. So, I thought, let’s make a playlist for the heck of it. This is what I’ve come up with thus far:

God Bless the U.S.A. – Lee Greenwood (“…to the Hills of Tennessee”)
The Devil went down to Georgia – Charlie Daniels Band
Spiderwebs – No Doubt
I’m gonna be – The Proclaimers (“I would walk 500 miles…”)
Return to Pooh Corner – Kenny Loggins
Wagon Wheel – Old Crow Medicine Show (“…thumbin’ my way into North Caroline…”)
In the Middle of the Night – Billy Joel (lots of language…mountain, river, etc.)
Like a Rock – Bob Seger
Ticks – Brad Paisley
Country Roads – John Denver (“Almost heaven, West Virginia…”)
The Gambler – Kenny Rodgers
The Thunder Rolls – Garth Brooks
The Wind – Zac Brown Band
Raise up – Petey Pablo (“This one’s for North Carolina. Come on and raise up!”)
Chattahoochee – Alan Jackson
NY State of Mind – Billy Joel
Meet Virginia – Train
Peaches – Presidents of the United States of America (peaches = Georgia)
Turn Turn Turn – The Byrds (“There is a season…”)
Summer Time – Sublime (“Summertime and the livin’s easy”)
Raindrops keep falling on my head – Burt Bacharach
Animaniacs – Universe Song

As you can see, the songs are all over the place. The associations for some are clear and others more creative. But the list has only just begun. This is where you all come in.

Can you please help me think of other songs that could go on an A.T. playlist? The songs can have to do with being outdoors, one of the states I’ll be trekking through, the physical activity of hiking/walking, or any other number of things that relate. Be creative. Think of as many as you can. And, by all means, leave your thoughts in a comment to this post.

The laptop is not part of the prize package. Wah WAH.

The winner will be the person who thinks of the longest list of relevant songs (repeats don’t count) by the deadline: Friday November 2 at 5PM EST. I’ll send the winner a sample of Manitoba Harvest Hemp Hearts to try (and also a major HIGH FIVE for being so creative and awesome and such). As a refresher, I first referred to Hemp Hearts (which are yummy hemp seeds) in this post.  Don’t worry about geography: I’ll send the prize via hot air balloon, if necessary.

Fair warning that I reserve the right to pick more than one winner (in particular for creativity over quantity) and to send random treats as I feel so compelled by the awesomeness and creativity that ensues. Oh also, it’d probably be best if I know the song (or can at least find it on YouTube).

This has the potential to be a lot of fun. I hope you’ll all participate! If not, I suppose I could always just cry myself to sleep…or, ya know, eat the Hemp Hearts myself.

Meandering on,

Jordana

38 thoughts on “Fun contest and GIVEAWAY! Help me think of songs for my playlist!

  1. How about I’m Still Standing by Elton John. It was our day song on a bus tour I did years ago. Very uplifting the morning after a late night (or a long hike).

  2. Georgia on my Mind—Ray Charles
    Memphis, Tennessee—Chuck Berry
    Back to Tennessee—Billy Ray Cyrus
    My Tennessee Mountain Home—Dolly Parton
    Tennessee River—Alabama
    Rocky Top—Osburne Brothers (or Lynn Anderson)
    Smoky Mountain Rain—Ronnie Milsap
    On Top of Old Smokey—Hank Williams Sr
    New York—Alicia Keys
    New York, New York—Frank Sinatra

    I hope that helps 🙂

  3. I would walk 500 miles The Proclaimers
    Walk like an Egyptian The Bangles
    Walk on the Wild Side Lou Reed
    Tee hee hee.. I might be back. This is fun!

  4. I’d go with anything (or everything) from Paul Simon’s Graceland. Maybe “The Myth of the Fingerprints”? A few of the song themes may work well for the AT, but that whole album inspires me to be outside and moving. Good luck to you!

  5. What a fun idea!!! I’ll probably be back but here’s the initial list I came up with:

    Happy Trails – Dave Evans
    Carolina on my Mind – James Taylor
    Meet in the Middle – Diamond Rio
    Midnight Train to Georgia – Gladys Knight
    1,000 Miles – Vanessa Carlton
    I Walk the Line – Johnny Cash
    Thank God I’m a Country Boy – John Denver
    The Hills are Alive – Julie Andrews (Sound of Music)
    Walking in Memphis – Marc Cohn
    Georgia on My Mind – Ray Charles
    Sunshine on my Shoulders – John Denver
    Caroline – Brandi Carlile
    Everywhere – Tim MCGraw
    I Swear – John Michael Montgomery
    Fishin’ in the Dark – Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
    Fearless – Pink Floyd

    🙂 🙂

  6. I like this blog post! Sharing music is always fun …

    Ok, I’m going for upbeat (since I like uptempo music for running).

    Going On, Gnarls Barkley – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENE1eWtW7e8

    Apartment, Young the Giant – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPUcP3k3CMY
    (he mentions leaving an apartment, that counts right?)

    Wake Me Up … Wham! – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIgZ7gMze7A
    (this song makes me laugh every time I hear the start of it)

    Tonight I Have to Leave it, Shout Out Louds – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKsPy85Ap6A

    The Sun, Portugal. the Man – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jrhOh43whxA

    Home, Edward Sharpe … – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHEOF_rcND8

    Ditto the Paul Simon’s Graceland recommendation!!

  7. Some of my favorites. You can find them all on Spotify. Enjoy!

    First Light – Harold Bud, Brian Eno
    Midday Sunshine – Ian O’Brien
    Natural Light – Bill Frisell
    The Birds Don’t Fly This High – Lone
    Giant Steps – John Coltrane
    Appalachian Spring – Aaron Copland
    Shenandoah – Bill Frisell
    South Side of the Sky – Yes
    In That Quiet Earth – Genesis
    Too High – Stevie Wonder
    Take Some Time Out – Durutti Column
    Aspirations – Santana
    Place to Be – Nick Drake
    Hillbilly Motobike – Stereolab
    Dreaming Trees – Pat Metheny
    Spirit of the Air – Pat Metheny
    Higher Ground – Stevie Wonder
    Autumn Leaves – Eliane Elias

  8. I Walk the Line – Johnny Carter And why not Ring of Fire for good measure
    Distant Sun – Split Enz
    Counting the Beat – The Swingers ‘I look into your eyes, don’t know where to turn’

  9. I would go with a selection from Bill Frisell, Good Dog, Happy Man; The Willies; Nashville. Always something new in there even if the trail looks familiar. It also plays well in the background so you won’t get distracted and fall down too much. You may also consider Zoe Muth to throw some light on where your going from how you’ve been.

  10. These are my favorite hiking/walking songs:
    Fly Away – Lenny Kravitz
    She’s on Fire – Train
    American Made – Christian Kane
    The Climb – Miley Cyrus
    Girls Just Wanna Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper
    Good Day Sunshine – The Beatles
    Hair of the Dog – Nazareth
    Holly Holy – Neil Diamond
    I’m Too Sexy – Right Said Fred
    I Can Stand a Little Rain – Joe Cocker
    Legs – ZZ Top
    Morning Has Broken – Cat Stevens
    Queen of the Night – Whitney Houston
    Staying Alive – The Bee Gee’s
    Streets of Philadelphia – Bruce Springsteen
    Sussudio – Phil Collins
    Tuesday Afternoon – The Moody Blues
    Werewolves of London – Warren Zevon

    … And,when you need some humor…
    Take the Skinheads Bowling – Camper Van Beethoven
    Pink Burrito – Radio Free Earth

  11. Girl… you are never gittin’ down the AT with songs like ‘Turn,Turn,Turn’ or ‘Pooh Corner’!!! Git some Phebe Snow ‘Shaky Ground’ goin’!

    That’s funny, I’ve never seen Hemp Hearts before yesterday… a giant bag at Costco… and now this… that’s okay if I don’t win the prize…

  12. twice now wordpress has sent my list to the ether – let me try one more time! I think I will do it in stages this time as I have a long list!
    Part 1
    Amazing Grace (lots of artists, I happen to like Scottish Parliament’s version)
    Summer Roads (Schooner Fare) 500 Miles (Peter Paul adn Mary)
    This land is your land (also PPM)
    Tennessee Waltz
    Kentucky Rain (Elvis?)
    I can’t stand the rain (Tina Turner)
    River Deep Mountain High, (also TT)

  13. Part 2
    Thinking like a Mountain (Libby Roderick)
    Song for the Summer Solstice (also LR)
    Low to the ground (also LR)
    Caught (between a rock and a soft place) (also LR)
    Searching fro a rainbow (Marshall Tucker Boand)
    Ramblin (also MTB)
    Fire on the MOuntain (also MTB)
    24 Hours at a time (also MTB)

  14. part 3
    You need fiddle music in the mountains…

    Catharsis (Natalie MacMaster)
    New York Jig (also N MacM)
    Crossing the Bridge (Eileen Ivers)
    Nearer My God to Thee (Also EI)

    and a trip to appalachia without dulcimer music… can’t happen!
    Marching through Georgia (George Haggerty)
    Ducks on the Pond/Shady Grove (also GH)
    I am a Pilgrim (also GH)
    Forked Deer (also GH)

  15. Part 4
    William Coulter and Barry Phillips have a whole CD named “Music on the Mountain” of simple instrumental arrangements of shaker and appalachian songs. Any or all of them would be good.

    Bad Moon Rising – Creedence Clearwater Revival
    Up around the bend (also CCR)
    Have you ever seen the rain (also CCR)
    long as I can see the light (Also CCR)
    The life of the rover (Irish Rovers)
    Years may come, years may go (also the IR)
    Song of the trees (John Trudell)
    Trees ( Robert Hoyt)
    You can’t clearcut your way to heaven (Darryl Cherney)
    Defend the Earth (Alice Di Micele)
    The only Green World (Rumors of the Big Wave)

    And of course, if no one else has suggested it, Happy Trails, which surely is available online.

    If you can’t find these online, let me know, I’ll get them to you.

  16. I do a great list on my blog called Music Monday. I’m sure there’s some songs on there which you’ll like. You could also try “Hall of Fame” by The Script feat. Will.i.am.

  17. I’m not good with keeping the artist with the song but if you can figure out the who that goes with the where:

    Any and everything by Arlo Guthrie – This Land is your land…etc.
    and…not sure how many of them there are.
    Any folk artist too including Guthrie’s granddaughter or is it his daughter.
    It’s a marvelous night for a moon dance or
    Are the stars out tonight…I can’t tell if it’s cloudy or bright…
    Did someone already mention Ethel Mermen belting out ‘God Bless America’
    how about ‘American Pie?’ – the long version.
    For some fun from Disney films “Whistle while you work” in your case “whistle while you walk!
    What about the Theme from Rocky? for when you finally make it to the end?
    If you need energy you can play that Ganham Style song by PSY.

    OK I think that’s about all I’ve got for the moment.
    Good luck. I think I spent about 4 hours by myself one year when I was around 13 following the dots on the trees, that were near our camp ground one year…I didn’t find out until much later it was the Appalachian trail in New York or New Jersey?

    Thanks for your visit. Cheers.

  18. I wanted to help but I don’t know half the songs you put there, but since I like the other half, I’m now thanking you ’cause you gave me a bunch of new songs to listen! love

  19. Pingback: Contest Winner or I promise I’m not a jerk. « My Meandering Trail

  20. Pingback: Another fun contest and giveaway: What am I making? « My Meandering Trail

Leave a Reply

