Do these trail runners make me look fat?

I know I’ve gained a few pounds in the past couple of months, but I didn’t realize that the weight all went into my right foot – and specifically into my second toe.  Last week I briefly mentioned that I wore my trail runners while hiking out at Bull Run to test them out as an alternative to hiking boots.  I found out pretty quickly that they do not provide enough support for me, especially without inserts to support my arches.  (Maybe I should try hiking in Moon Shoes instead. I bet it’d be like frolicking in the clouds.) However, it didn’t occur to me until about a week later that my toe (and foot, for that matter) is a little unhappy.

I have monkey feet.  Ya know the kind with toes that are one step away from being opposable? The second toe is longer than the big toe, which helps. And then I have slight bunions, which force my big toes inward, making the situation a slam dunk.  What, you don’t think my feet are awesome? Well, then you haven’t seen me delicately pick up a piece of paper off the ground without bending over.  And I definitely had a hidden defense (or offense?) against my sisters when we were growing up (that I shall call the “stealth pinch”).

You remember This Little Piggy from when you were a kid (or with your own kids)? Well, this is the adult version. Artistic license taken.

My foot had felt vaguely sore for about a week, but I didn’t really take note of it.  Then I tried to pick something up off the ground, and I realized I couldn’t bend my second toe.  Hm, upon a closer look, it was looking down right swollen.  And after some poking and prodding, I realized it started in the base (knuckle) of my toe and led all the way into the arch of my foot.

What’re you gonna do?  Injury is nothing new to me. Last Spring in the months before I went on a road trip with my friend Melissa, we had made a pact: “No injuries.”  In preparation for the trip, I was doing my darnedest to be in great shape so that we could take full advantage of all the hiking opportunities in front of us.  So (of course) I overdid it with boot camp classes at the gym and with running and ended up getting bursitis in my knee.  It was weird because it didn’t hurt at all.  It just presented as an inexplicable bruise that overtook my knee.  So, true to the pact, I completely backed off exercise (except walking) and healed up in time for the road trip.

I think, once again, the universe is trying to send me a message.  Not one day after I noticed my toe did I get a call from Melissa.  And, wouldn’t you know it, she sprained her ankle.  I know I joked about being superstitious in my first blog post, but the truth is that I actually am a little wary of strange coincidences.  So when Melissa told me about her newest injury, I decided not to tempt fate and that I should instead take it easy on my poor morbidly obese toe for a bit.

I walk during my commute to and from work, but other than that, I’m taking it easy on my digits.  And it’s not like I’m really mourning the loss of exercise either, if I’m going to be honest. It’s been an exhausting week at work, and it’s nice to give my body a break. But let’s be real; as much as I’m enjoying the respite, I still plan to go for a hike this weekend.  What can I say? I’m a little superstitious, but I guess I’m a little stubborn too.

Meandering on,

Jordana

16 thoughts on “Do these trail runners make me look fat?

  1. Rule of thumb: It’s better to rest and restore, than not to be able to line up on race day. You can’t compete if you are injured, so get healthy first. One piece of advice: don’t post pictures of your feet at the end of each day on your 2,000-mile hike.

  2. I love your style of writing! Very humorous! So know what you mean with the injuries… Although I’m quite accident prone, so whenever I decide to take something up, I end up hurting myself half way through the first week and have to stop so that I don’t lose limbs. Surprisingly never broken a bone though… I feel for your poor toe. Hope it’s well on the road to recovery today (also, so know the ‘this week was an exhausting one at work’ scenario x]).

    • Too funny…I feel like I could’ve written your comment. Never broken a bone either. Really though I’ve learned to start slowly and let my tendons and ligaments catch up. It minimizes injury that for me that way.

  3. Pingback: Weekend Hike – Halloween (and Frankenstorm) Edition « My Meandering Trail

Leave a Reply

