They love me! They really love me!

When I first thought about thru-hiking the A.T., it occurred to me that it’s a purely selfish endeavor.  I am going to leave all of my family and friends for 6+ months, desert my obligations, and just go.  “I’ll see you later.  I won’t forget to write.”

To some of you, this may seem incongruous.  I live on my own (with a roommate). I have neither children nor elderly parents that rely on me.  But I do have a strong network of friends and family that come to me for support and do expect me to be accessible, even if it’s just an implied expectation.  And I’ve mentioned before how committed I am to cultivating and maintaining those relationships.  So now here I am declaring to them all that I plan to hike through the woods, often without cell phone reception, with my phone turned off for the better half of a year.  “Don’t call me. I’ll call you.”

I have to say that the realization is liberating.  I love being there for “my people,” but somehow the thought of detaching feels freeing.  It’s something I’ve always loved about traveling internationally as well as through remote national parks.  Culture, beauty, new experiences… and not always having an eye on my cell phone.  I’m not nearly as bad as many people I see walking around D.C. with their faces glued to their screens, but it’s still frequently in the back of my mind.

So I felt selfish.

But very quickly something unexpected happened.  People started inviting themselves to the trail in support of my goal and, I suspect, to participate in even some small way in my adventure.

“When will you expect to be around NYC? Virginia? Pennsylvania?  Maryland?”

Nicki: “I’ll bring you food and cheer you on.”

Mom: “I’ll visit you and come with chicken soup.”

April: “I’ll plan my (work) travel schedule around where you’ll be in Pennsylvania.”

Rach: “I’ll hike with you on a weekend when you’re passing through Harper’s Ferry.”

Jor: “What if I’m not hiking through on a weekend?”

Rach: “Well, you couldn’t have gotten that far over the course of a week.”

Jor: “Fair”

At this point, I’ve had three friends determine to hike with me for between several days to several weeks.

Caro: “When will you be in the Smokies?  I’d love to hike the Smokies!”

Melissa: “Where do you think you’ll be in July/August?  I think I can manage a few weeks during my summer break from teaching.”

Lisa: “When I hike with you (because I intend to), I’m bringing a stove, and there will be hot food.”

My favorite recent conversation involves the topic of a friend’s wedding, which will be in April in a town along the trail.

Chris: “Convenient place she picked to get married, huh? Is someone bringing you a razor and a dress? I will do so if you need. And some shoes.”

(Chris knows me so well…a razor…)

And then there’s the topic of actually getting to the wedding, which I have been assured by several friends will not be a problem.  I am declaring that I’ll likely be hundreds of miles out of the way, and I’m being reassured over and over that my friends will find a way to get me there.

Here I am, feeling selfish and greedy, yet all the feedback I’m getting from friends and family is positive and supportive.  The vibe I’m getting is: “We want you to succeed.  We want to have a part in that success.  If you succeed, we succeed.”  As much as I treasure the moments that I can be there for my family and friends, how can I not be humbled and touched by the encouragement and effort that they are devoting to my goal?

Back to where we started this post.  Selfish? Maybe a little.  Alone? Definitely not.

I know this is way out of character for me, but I’ve always loved John Donne and think I’d like to end with his short poem, No Man is an Island.

No man is an island,

Entire of itself.

Each is a piece of the continent,

A part of the main.

If a clod be washed away by the sea,

Europe is the less.

As well as if a promontory were.

As well as if a manor of thine own

Or of thine friend’s were.

Each man’s death diminishes me,

For I am involved in mankind.

Therefore, send not to know

For whom the bell tolls,

It tolls for thee.

Wait, I changed my mind. I definitely don’t want to end on that poem. It’s beautiful but depressing.  Did you read that carefully? He’s talking about death! No, thank you.  Instead, let’s talk about the fact that the weather this last weekend was gorgeous.  It was 72 degrees and sunny yesterday.  What a perfect day for a drive and for a hike.  I even saw a rainbow.  (OK, I didn’t really see a rainbow, but just picture it anyway.  With a unicorn flying past it.)

Ah, much better. Yeah, let’s end on that note instead.

Meandering on,

Jordana

34 thoughts on “They love me! They really love me!

  1. This is the overriding theme of everything that happens on the AT. We are a community; you are never alone. Friends, family, strangers…all will be there when you need them. I too had to leave the trail for a wedding (I was in Maine by then!) but got shuttled back so that I could meet back up with the people I had been hiking with for months so that we could finish together. I then got bumped back down to the section that I had missed and hiked backwards to make it up. I don’t even remember how all of those logistics worked but they did due to the kindness of my friends, family and strangers. Your heart will swell almost as much as your feet at the overwhelming love you’ll receive while on the trail. It changes your life. And don’t worry, there are jerks out there too to keep it all real. 😉

    • Yeah, I’m already starting to realize it. As far as the jerks, I’ve been given advice to carry a machete and a crossbow (gotta love friends), so I think I’ll be fine.

  2. You definitely have the support of family and friends so don’t feel selfish about it. Although, actually, it is perfectly OK to be selfish if – as you seem to be – you are someone who gives much of themselves to be helpful to others. So enjoy!

    • Like all relationships, the energy and effort exerted back and forth is fluid. I guess it’s my time to take a little more than I give. I feel so lucky to be able to say that.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I currently have a niece and her hubba hiking the trail. They left in May and should finish up in Dec. What an adventure they’ve had. And AlisaG is right. They’ve experienced tons of community and kindess from strangers. They’re listed on the AT blog as Almost Eagle and Dancing Dove. Kurtis and LB Kolkebeck. Who knows? you may cross paths somehow. You will hear them coming. 🙂 Best wishes on your AT adventure.

  4. I totally agree with you about the feeling being liberating! We’re not even shutting off our cells when we move to Colorado just the moving to somewhere completely new and experiencing new things is uplifting just thinking about it! What a blessing to feel the support your feeling! Praying my family and friends come around to that point before we leave! haha

  5. Friends are great! I just read a book called, “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed. It really opened my eyes to what hiking a trail like that is like for a woman alone. For me, I will just read about your journies and live vicariously through your experiences…sitting on my couch as I read all about it. LOL! I wish you the best!

  6. I think it’s great that you are doing this. Its not possible for me at this time in my life with work and 4 young kids. However, I look forward to following your journey along the AT until I can do it myself.

    • As someone who comes from a family of four children, I know that having four young kids at home is an adventure in and of itself. When the time comes, you’ll be more than prepared for an AT hike yourself.

  7. You know, I love the way you write. It is very entertaining and engaging. I found myself completely wrapped up in your topic. (It helps that I love to hike and camp when I can.) But keep it up. I will check back in to see how things are progressing. I’m sure you will make the journey interesting.
    If you ask me, it takes a special person, in the right time of life, to be able to take an adventure like this. I wish you God speed!

  8. There’s something about journeying on your own momentum that knits the soul to the body. Every step is yours, every movement and every day a victory. The world is distilled to the essence of you.

    Technology can wait.

  9. This is one of my biggest fears about travelling… having to say goodbye to all the lovely faces attached to lovely people! It’s nice to hear another angle on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

