Weekly Photo Challenge: Mine

Quick, name that movie!  Here’s a hint if you didn’t get it: it’s the best in the trilogy (that’s a statement, not a question.  No offense, but this is not up for discussion.  Let’s just agree to disagree here and now to save us both time and heartache).  In fact, it might just be the best movie from any trilogy ever, of all time, in the universe.  That’s right: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.  I’ve had a love affair with Indiana and his final adventure (we both know the 20-year reunion follow up movie doesn’t count. It would be blasphemy to suggest as much.) since I was knee high to a grasshopper.  (For the record, I am now elbow high to the aforementioned hopper that hangs out in the grass.)

And sometimes when I’m tired or cranky or stressed (what’s that? I make it look so easy?  That’s so kind of you to say.  You must be “selectively listening” when reading my posts), I go home and pop in the DVD.

I know every single line in the movie.  I know the tone, the facial expressions, the exchanges. This movie is mine.  Watching it is mine.  When I’m alone, I can quote every line without fear of ruining the experience for others.  I can keep the volume low.  And most importantly, I can be alone with my thoughts or choose to leave my thoughts alone.

My favorite element is our hero’s skill with a whip <wink, wink>.  Wait, what?  Did she really just put that out there?  Oh for goodness sake, get your head out of the gutter.  I was just making sure you’re paying attention.  I take that back.  Rewind. The reason I love this movie so much is that both our hero and his father think they know what they want and aren’t afraid to work hard and chase their dreams.  And adventures abound!  Sure, they make some mistakes along the way (i.e. – I can’t say they’re the best judge of women), but they come through the better for their experiences.

In the last minute of the movie, when they’ve gained then lost that which they sought, Indiana asks his father, “What did you find, Dad?” to which he replies, “Me? Illumination.”  I’m a pretty realistic person.  I can’t say that in thru-hiking the A.T. I’m demanding a life changing experience.  Sure, it will be memorable, but when it comes down to it, I sense I’ll be the same person when I’m done (if looking a little more weathered).  But, let’s be real, I wouldn’t turn it down if the universe offered me some illumination.  And hm, now that I think of it, it would also be awesome if the universe offered me a way to listen to the movie during my trek.  Oh, and also a million dollars.

Meandering on,

Jordana

** Note:  I decided to participate in Wordpress’s The Daily Post: Weekly Photo Challenge.  The above post was inspired by this week’s theme, “Mine.” **

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Mine

  1. My boyfriend just made me watch the three Indiana Jones movies under protest. I do have to admit the third one was pretty good, but I could tell he was mad I didn’t love them as much as he does. 😡

    • As long as you acknowledge that the third was good, then we can talk. I recommend that you force (I mean actively encourage by repeatedly refusing to seem him if he doesn’t…ya know, keep it positive) your boyfriend to watch a movie that you adore from your childhood. That should even the score.

  2. Uh oh… I read that first paragraph and almost skipped directly to comment! Haha We will not argue which of the original films is the best. That being said, Raiders of the Lost Ark is the best.

    I have very fond memories of “The Last Crusade”, since it was the first Indy film I saw in the theater when I was 9 years old (1989 was a long time ago -sigh-). I have since watched it probably hundreds of times, and could likely recite every line correctly with the sound off.

    If only my wife loved Indiana Jones as much as I do! 😛

    • You shut your mouth when you’re talking to me! Just kidding. I suppose I can respect a fellow Indie trilogy lover, even if he is misguided. It’s probably best your wife doesn’t love it as much as you do; quoting the movie over each other could get annoying.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Mine | R Shad

Leave a Reply

